MY TYPOGRAPHY EXPERIMENTS

I explored different types of typography to experiment with for MY POSTER so I decided to experiment with a few. But HERE are some more I looked into.

NEGATIVE SPACE

I used a flower image from google to create my negative space typography

STEP 1

I placed the grass image from google onto Photoshop as a background and locked this layer so I could not move it.

STEP 2

I then placed the flower image into Photoshop and deleted the background from it, I resized it to make it smaller and placed this on top of the grass image. I duplicated this flower multple times and moved them around to first create the outline of the B and then the middle.

This allowed me to create the B shape within the flowers.

MY NEGATIVE SPACE EXPERIMENT

STENCIL

I started off with a basic leaf image that I found on google for this typographic style.

I placed this into Photoshop and rotated it so it was straight, I placed the letter B into the middle of the leaf.


The following steps show how I hightlight and delete the text from the leaf

STEP 1

I selected the layer of text so the outline of the B was highlighted.

STEP 2

I then clicked on the leaf layer and clicked delete, this would in turn delete the selected B text from the leaf leaving a ‘hole’ where the B was, like a stencil.

STEP 3

Below shows how I used the Wacom tablet and pen tool to draw different shapes over the leaf, my aim would be to delete these sections of the leaf as I did with the B.

STEP 4

After drawing out these shapes I held shift and the CMD key and selected each shape, this is shown in the first two screen shots.

I then went onto the ‘PATHS’ tab on Photoshop which selected what I had highlighted.

STEP 5

As before, I had to select the leaf layer and click delete which first got rid of the blue selection and left faint lines and then again which completely deleted them leaving a stencil like effect.

MY STENCIL EXPERIMENT

THIRD TYPOGRAPHY EXPERIMENT

As shown in our PARK VISIT 2 we created the alphabet using shrubbery and other items we found in the park.

Leave a comment