MY NOTAN ART

This was my first attempt at Notan art. I did this with Photoshop and straight away wanted to incorporate our park theme into my experiment so I found a picture of an acorn from google. I used the pen tool and traced around the shape of the acorn and filled it in black with a white outline

I did the same but with opposite colours, so I outlined the other acorn and filled it white with a black outline.

To finish it off I used the shape took and drew a rectangle and filled it black and placed this half way on the image as shown in the last screenshot.

HOW DID THIS GO?

I think this went well for a first attempt however it seemed pretty basic, the shape I used worked very well and overall does work well as a Notan art piece. I wasn’t overly pleased with this artwork and whilst researching cam across something called square expansion.

This is shown in my NOTAN RESEARCH. I tried this out with black and white card. First I drew out shapes in nature based on stuff we found at the park. I drew a couple leaves, an acorn and a feather on white card. I cut them out and halved them. One half I will stick down and the other half I will use as a stencil for the black park of the shape.

I cut out a white square bit of card and a smaller square in black and stuck this in the middle of the white card. I matched up the two halves of each image ( The black and white halves ) and started to stick this onto the card – The black half being on the white bit of card and the white half matching up but on the black bit of the card.

This is my final image

HOW DID THIS GO

I think this went really well, it looks really good. The items I chose to draw are very effective and naturally blend from the white half to the black and doesn’t look odd. I am so much happier with how this worked out compared to my first attempt

Leave a comment