OP ART

Op art is short for optical art and is a form of abstract art. Artists use a range of shapes, colours and patterns to create images that look as though they are moving. This art style started in the 1960s.

These illusions are achieved through systematic and precise manipulation.

Some popular artists of the Op art movement were:

VICTOR VASARELY
BRIDGET RILEY
RICHARD ANUSZKIEWICZ
JEAN – PIERRE YVARAL

Op arts were first produced in black and white and later in vibrant colours.

The patterns, shapes and colours can create a sense of movement – swelling, flashing, flowing etc. This is created using both positive and negative space.

Even though op art has strange effects it fits in with fine art. All art is based on perception and depth even when the artwork is flat so it is merely increasing the illusionary effect.

WHAT DO I THINK

I find it fascinating looking at different artworks which are optical illusions, the way that it plays with your eyes is unbelievable. I see a lot of videos where you stare at a spot and then it colours a black and white image. It is fascinates me and I am looking forward to creating my own.

I have since created MY OWN OP ART

Leave a comment