THE PROJECT

The aim of this induction project is to create an exhibition of our artwork in one of our classroom windows to show the effects of climate change. We simply researched climate change, its issues, causes and possible solutions. My thoughts on climate change have always been negative as there are always advertisements showing the damage it is doing to the environment, animals, habitats and the world in general. But have never thought that as an individual my opinion would make a difference which is why it amazes me so much that there are people trying to initiate change. When researching this lead to the focus on 2 main categories, those that harm us and those that harm the environment such as pollution or dumping trash. I aim to use different mediums as we discussed in class that we would do a few trips to Sutton park to collect items which could possibly be used to apply paint etc when creating our banners. I want to explore different ways to create artwork within nature so I looked into a couple artists that create their work within the environment. I aim to look at artists such as Andy Goldsworthy as he works a lot with nature and creates vibrant art pieces. To link to this artist we could create a shape, symbol or typography style in the park with vibrant colours. I also aim to look at Stefan Sagmeister, he creates his typography artwork with objects found outdoors, like branches, cactus’s etc. I could do the same by creating lettering out of sticks and leaves and other objects found in the park. This will also link to us having to find lettering within nature, so in trees etc during our visit.

Even though I am not yet sure on how I will incorporate items found in the park within my banner / posters entirely but I want to try and be as creative as possible by exploring different techniques I have researched as well as being influenced by other artists. I want to create artworks that in some way link together so the audience know they are a collection when shown in the exhibition. What I aim to create will showcase nature in more than one aspect. This will hopefully attract all audiences as I aim to make it colourful and abstract. The audience range is so large as there are children like Gretta Thunberg who are climate change activists as they are afraid for their future, then there are older people like those who participate in Extinction Rebellion, like the recent 91 year old activist who got arrested for gluing himself to a road. Determination and a pure thrive to make something better does not have an age, anyone can ignite this within anyone of any age at any point, and that’s what I want to do as more people need to do something and be aw\re of what is really going on. My younger sister who is 8 is learning about this at school and she seems so passionate about stopping people from ruining the world already. So hopefully my work will attract audiences of different ages.

Constant evaluation throughout and after each experiment will be essential in helping me progress with my ideas and development. I will therefore reflect on my work every lesson and document new thoughts, experiences and my plans for the following week. This along with teacher feedback and peer feedback will help me develop along a steady course within the project and help me create effective pieces for the exhibition.

Leave a comment